Titling and registration, by state

Discussion in 'Resources & Links' started by racerx, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. lukelaw1

    lukelaw1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    57
    I think it was roughly a year or so after I bought the bike I applied for bonded title. I don't know how long the bike had been reported stolen either
     
  2. scrubus

    scrubus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    9
    Titling process for Wisconsin with no bill of sale and no title.
    Sent in MV-1 and MV2082 forms at the end of July 2016 stating I bought vehicle without a title or bill of sale.
    Wisconsin DMV ran a search on the vehicle I.D. number and found no records.
    Received Wisconsin DMV Approval to apply for Surety Bond on 9/26/2016
    Received Surety Bond 10/1/16
    Received Title Saturday 10/15/16
    Received plates on Monday 10/17/16
     
  3. Jane

    Jane New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    My brother in law bought a street legal dirt bike and didn't notice PO titled it as Off Road Use Only. DMV stated by Florida Law, it could never be changed. My ever resourceful Spousal Unit found a Craigslist entrepreneur that got a South Dakota tag/title. I think it was $175 and took 2 weeks. Hope this helps...
     
    kirrbby likes this.
  4. kirrbby

    kirrbby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    I've never understood why it should be so difficult. Issue titles and tags. Let the cops find the ones that aren't safe and legal for the street...everyone wins.

    State makes money. Bikers get to ride their bikes. Seems a no-brainer to me.
     
  5. Mike_

    Mike_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    69
    California.... arm, leg and 1st, 2nd and 3rd born! o_O
     
    Coastal Redneck likes this.
  6. Coastal Redneck

    Coastal Redneck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    236
    HaHa, Mike_ , does that mean ya STILL OWE??? :eek:
     
  7. Mike_

    Mike_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yep, only have had one kid so far
     
  8. Coastal Redneck

    Coastal Redneck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,214
    Likes Received:
    236
    Time to get busy, dude, the DMV is waitin' on ya, LOL... collection basket in hand, no doubt. :eek:
     
  9. cornishrooster

    cornishrooster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    27
    Quick question about Vermont registration. Form 119i says that the tax is calculated by bill of sale amount or nada value whichever is higher. If I go by the Fair evaluation it's $875 at 6% or $52. Seems like I could just say the value is poor which goes by bill of sale price. Can anyone advise? If they go by the "good" evaluation it'll cost me $150 just in tax! Hopefully they don't ask for pictures.


    EDIT - nm. Finally found a section that said $500 was the minimum value so 6% was $30 + $48 for one year registration and a mandatory $6 fee for a total of $84. Not bad considering that titling firm wanted $250.
     
    #149 cornishrooster, Oct 10, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  10. b52bombardier1

    b52bombardier1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    137
    Ya' gotta' remember, Vermont goes by value of the bike, not what it cost you. They don't care that the bill of sale says $250. You could have rescue pulled it out of a landfill archaeological dig for free . . . doesn't matter. This is revenue generation by the State pure and simple. I'm just happy this method of registration works at all so I don't complain.

    Rick
     
    cornishrooster and Gary like this.
  11. Gary

    Gary Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    120
    +1. Illinois does it the same way on everything we have to title. It seems hard to believe that someone would try to scam the system by providing a low ball bill of sale;) So after a certain year it's just a flat fee,but on newer items it goes by book value not by what you "paid". Things sold to immediate family members don't get taxed here.
     
    cornishrooster likes this.
  12. cornishrooster

    cornishrooster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    27
    I understand why they do but I was curious how they see what price to tax at. The NADA value for my bike jumps from $4500, $2500, $1200, $875 to N/A. Seems like they would want to see a picture of the bike so they could tax you in the range that would land them the most money. Fortunately it seems like they are happy just taking the $30 from the minimum $500 value.
     
  13. Gary

    Gary Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    120
    Please don't give them any ideas ;) Here's a copy of Illinois current idea-
    Use the table below when the purchase price (or fair market value) of a vehicle is less than $15,000. The tax due is determined by the model year of the vehicle. Model year Vehicle age (years) Tax due ($) 2016 or newer-$390. 2015-$290. 2014-$215. 2013-$165. 2012 -$115. 2011-$90. 2010 -$80. 2009 -$65. 2008 -$50. 2007-$40. 2006 -11 or older $25.
     
    cornishrooster likes this.
  14. allenp42

    allenp42 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    195
    Vermont uses NADA "Good" condition or the purchase price, whichever is higher. If you call Montpelier to get the value, they always ask what you paid before they give you the value. They do this so they can tell you how much you owe for taxes.

    Thus far, my bill of sale has always been under the NADA value....so I pay book value.

    http://www.nadaguides.com/Motorcycles/Motorcycles
     
  15. cornishrooster

    cornishrooster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    27
    Got it. So do they send you a letter telling you that your application is denied or do they just not process it? Also curious if anyone can tell me about how long they waited before they heard anything or received plates? Thanks.
     
  16. b52bombardier1

    b52bombardier1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    137
    They return everything to you including an explanation with your personal check uncashed. For me, it has gone 2-3 weeks usually before I get the green plate and temporary reggie in the mail. The more formal reggie that is good for one year follows in a few days.

    Rick
     
  17. allenp42

    allenp42 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    195
    Same experience here. The best luck i’ve had is just shy of 2 weeks for the plate. The registration and sticker usually follow 2-3 days after you receive the plate.

    Allen
     
  18. cornishrooster

    cornishrooster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    27
    Awesome. Thanks for the info gents.
     
  19. WipeoutWm

    WipeoutWm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    5
    state-by-state -Texas experience

    I went through Vermont. I sent them:
    pictures of bike
    Pictures of vin (explicity included the "THIS VEHICLE CONFORMS TO ALL FEDERAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARDS IN EFFECT ON THE DATE OF MANUFACTURE SHOWN" claim, because of previous questions whether the bike was approved for highway use.
    NADA guide printed from internet , to support value of $800
    my VIN checks printed from internet
    hand written, not notarized BOS.
    copy of Texas liability insurance, and Texas DPS safety inspection
    Vermont's form
    Check for 6% of 800 = 48 for taxes, plus 48 for registration, + 6 for warranty fee.-
    REJECTED! Not supposed to pay warranty fee, and they said I had to show bike was approved for highway use. So I wrote back that this was a 70CC bike and was not highway capable, but it did "meet all federal" standards and was street legal. SUCCESS!
    I think it took about 3 weeks for each pass... and they sent me plate, registration, and sticker.

    So I drove it with that Vermont plate for almost a year. BEFORE that expired, I went to Hidalgo County Texas DMV.
    Took:
    Vermont registration
    Vermont registration INSTRUCTIONS with highlights about no title required
    Texas insurance
    Texas inspection
    They asked for BOS, I said don't have it but seller info is in registration.
    Asked for title,I showed them the Vermont disclaimer that they don't title, and Texas made a copy of my page!
    Asked if I paid sales tax, showed them that on the registration, and they credited me for that tax... and made a copy.
    Had to talk the clerk through all this, but she was very impressed that I had all the documentation.
    Paid registration and title fees, maybe $75? and walked out with Texas plates and sticker, with title in the mail.
    Painless! and cheaper than bonded title path, and much faster.

    Vermont will do cycles up to 300 CC.
    I did this on a different bike also. I paid 250 for it, showed them NADA estimate showing I thought value was 1600 based on a similar bike because the (Buddy) had no values in NADA. Vermont assigned their minimum value of 500 and taxed me for that, but they did cash my check for the higher tax... maybe I'll get a refund? They did the process on 12/31, and license was postmarked 12/31, and registration postmarked 1/11, but both showed up together on 1/14. So I will drive that one for a year...
     
    airblazer, racerx and cjpayne like this.

Share This Page